The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Program

In 1998 L'Oréal and UNESCO founded the For Women in Science program to promote and highlight the critical importance of ensuring greater participation of women in science.

Each year, the program recognises the achievements of exceptional female scientists at different stages of their careers and awards them with Fellowships to help further their research.

Since For Women in Science was established, more than 2,500 women in over 110 countries have been recognised for their research and received funding to support their research and careers.

There are three distinct tiers:


There are 47 National Programs run by L’Oréal subsidiaries around the world. Each National Fellowship helps women scientists at a critical point in their career to continue to pursue their research with flexible financial aid.


The L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Australia & New Zealand Fellowships were launched in 2007 and have recognised 31 outstanding local scientists, supporting them to continue their research and help them rise to leadership positions in their field of expertise.

Each Fellow is awarded $25,000 for a one year project. This is intended to provide practical help for the winners to undertake research in their chosen fields and the winners may choose to spend their fellowship on buying scientific equipment, paying for child care costs, conference & travel costs or other items they may need to continue their research.

Within the Australian & New Zealand program there are five Fellowships available:

Four $25,000 Australian Fellowships
One $25,000 New Zealand Fellowship (the inaugural New Zealand Fellowship was awarded in 2015)

The National Fellows must be within five years of their PhD (not including career breaks) for research at an Australian or New Zealand academic or research institution.

Read more about the support the Fellowship provides here.

Applications for the 2017 Fellowships will open on Monday 20th February 2017.

Girls in ScienceGIRLS IN SCIENCE

Each year the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Australia & New Zealand Fellows share their stories with female students through our Girls in Science program.

The forum provides an opportunity for students from a number of different schools to hear from the Fellows and ask them questions about their career path. Our Fellows are able to provide the girls with information about different scientific careers and to encourage them to pursue this vocation and help to increase the representation of females in science.

Since the Girls in Science forums began in Australia & New Zealand 2,000 students (from years 9 to 12) have attended, met the Fellows and toured science facilities at various institutions. In Australia the forums have taken place at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, the Australian Synchrotron, the Garvan Institute of Medical Research in Australia and the University of New South Wales. In New Zealand they have been held at the Maurice Wilkins Centre and University of Auckland in New Zealand.



Each year the Laureate Program provide five leading female scientists, one from continent, with a prestigious €100,000 award in recognition of their groundbreaking achievements and contributions to scientific progress. These women are at the cutting edge of their research fields and the international structure of the program ensures that the Laureates are distributed among women who are working under a wide variety of conditions. Since the program’s creation 87 Laureates have been honoured with this award.

These Laureates are selected by the L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards Jury which is made up of 18 eminent members of the international scientific community.

Read more at our international site.


The International Rising Talents awards are presented to fifteen promising young female scientists, three from each world region (Africa and the Arab States, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America and North America). These awards aim to support and encourage them to pursue their scientific careers.

The recipients of these awards are selected from the FWIS National and Regional Fellows and they each receive a grant of €15,000 for their research. These awards strive to recognise talented young researchers who are indeed the future of science. Read more at our international site.